What we study

In American Studies, we draw on a wide variety of methods to explore the United States and the complex, sometimes contradictory, definition of “Americanness.”

Meet our faculty

The department includes experts in the study of art and architecture, African American novels and Latino films, the natural environment and the urban landscape, as well as gender, race, class, and immigration.

Explore our minors

We have two exciting minors open to students across the university, the Gallivan Program in Journalism, Ethics, and Democracy and the Sport, Media, and Culture minor

Congratulations to our Senior Thesis Writers! We are so proud of you!

If our lives in education have any significance, it will be in our reading the signs of the times and in educating the young of our times in the visions and values that will civilize and make for reasonable human progress and lasting peace on earth.

Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, C.S.C.

I acknowledge my presence on the traditional homelands of Native peoples including the Haudenosauneega, Miami, Peoria, and particularly the Pokégnek Bodéwadmik / Pokagon Potawatomi, who have been using this land for education for thousands of years, and continue to do so.