Sheedy Excellence in Teaching Award Ceremony


Location: Morris Inn, Smith Ballroom (View on

The College of Arts and Letters congratulates Kathleen Sprows Cummings. She is the Rev. John A. O’Brien Collegiate Professor of American Studies and History at the University of Notre Dame, where she also serves as the William W. and Anna Jean Cushwa Director of the Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism.

Kathleen Sprows Cummings Thumbnail

The highest teaching honor in the College, the Sheedy Award was founded in 1970 in honor of Rev. Charles E. Sheedy, C.S.C., who served as dean of the College of Arts and Letters from 1951–69.

The award ceremony is open to all faculty, staff, and students.


Originally published at